Tastybitsandbites’s Weblog


Mac n’ Cheese…Take 1
September 24, 2008, 9:17 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am on the hunt for a great Mac n’ Cheese recipe. I mean one that is consistently good, gooey, creamy and all things comforting. To be honest, I don’t care if it’s healthy or not. So to start my hunt, I turned to one of my favorite blogs, Pioneer Woman. Every single thing that I have made from her site has been fan-freakin’ tastic. Till now. Unfortunatly this one just didn’t do it for me, however it may be what you are looking for…..

P.W.’s Spicy Macaroni & Cheese

4 cups cooked macaroni or cavatappi
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 to 1/2 finely diced red onion
Equal amount diced red bell pepper
1 finely diced jalapeno
1 4 oz can chopped green chilies
1 cup frozen corn
2 to 3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 cup cream
1 generous cup grated Pepper Jack cheese
2 tablespoons butter
Salt
Pepper

Boil pasta until al dente. In a large skillet, add olive oil and saute garlic and vegetables over medium heat for a couple of minutes. Add in canned chilies and stir around, then turn off heat. Drain pasta and add it to skillet. Pour on cream, add cheese, then add salt and pepper to taste and stir gently. At the end, add 2 tablespoons butter and stir again. Check seasonings and serve.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi!!
I have a great macaroni and cheese but it isnt written down. I just noticed that if i put 3 cheese (cheddar, mozz. gouda) it is simply sooo yummy!!!
Oh and I put some cream in it too… if you find one, then send it my way! Chris has to eat pasta all the time and the kids wont eat the “fake” kraft dinner

Comment by Jenn Bahen




Leave a Reply

